Committee on Delegated Legislation

  1. Committee Mandate
Whenever a statutory instrument is submitted to the Assembly pursuant to the Constitution, any law or the Standing Orders, the statutory instrument shall, unless a contrary intention appears in the relevant legislation, be laid before the Assembly by the Chair of the relevant sectoral Committee, or any other member and shall thereafter stand referred to the Committee on Delegated Legislation. The Committee shall consider in respect of any statutory instrument whether it-
(a)is in accord with the provisions of the Constitution, the Act pursuant to which it is made or other relevant written law;
(b) infringes on fundamental rights and freedoms of the public;
(c) contains a matter which in the opinion of the Committee should more properly be dealt with in an Act of Parliament or County Assembly.
(d) contains imposition of taxation;
(e) directly or indirectly bars the jurisdiction of the Courts;
(f) gives retrospective effect to any of the provisions in respect of which the Constitution or the Act does not expressly give any such power;
(g)involves expenditure from the Consolidated Fund or other public revenues;
(h)is defective in its drafting or for any reason the form or purport of the statutory instrument calls for any elucidation;
(i)appears to make some unusual or unexpected use of the powers conferred by the Constitution or the Act pursuant to which it is made;
(j)appears to have had unjustifiable delay in its publication or laying before the County Assembly;
(k)makes rights , liberties or obligations unduly dependent upon non-reviewable decisions;
(l)makes rights , liberties or obligations unduly dependent insufficiently defined administrative powers;
(m)inappropriately delegates legislative powers;
(n)imposes a fine, imprisonment or other penalty without express authority having been provided for in the enabling legislation;
(o)appears for any reason to infringe on the rule of law;
(p)inadequately subjects the exercise of legislative power to the County assembly scrutiny; and,
(q)accords to any other reason that the Committee considers fit to examine.
No. Name Position
1. Hon. Philiph Korir Chair
2. Hon. Lilly Cherotich Vice Chair
3. Hon. Caren Cherono Member
4. Hon. Evaline Mibey Member
5. Hon. Catherine Chepngetich Member
6. Hon. Fellody Chepkirui Member
7. Hon. Vincent Mutai Member


Mr. Calvin Kitur
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About Bomet County

Bomet County is in the former Rift Valley Province of Kenya. Its capital and largest town is Bomet. The county has a population of 730,129 and an area of 1,997.9 km².